Book Review + Giveaway // Everybody Knows Your Name by Andrea Seigel and Brent Bradshaw

Note – Thank you to Penguin Random House for sending me a copy of the book for review! All opinions are my own. No affiliate links were used in this post.

Everybody Knows Your Name by Andrea Seigel and Brent Bradshaw is about two teenagers who meet on a reality show. Magnolia realizes she is stuck in a rut and wants to reinvent herself when her boyfriend leaves her to pursue surfing. Helped by her widowed mother, Magnolia auditions and earns a spot on Spotlight, a new reality singing competition. Ford is an emancipated seventeen-year-old, who auditions for Spotlight for a chance to get out of town and avoid continuing to follow in the footsteps of his jailbird family. When the two meet on Spotlight sparks the fly, and as the competition begins they must learn how to manage their growing feelings along with the pressure of being on camera and the instant fame that Spotlight gives them.

I didn’t expect to fall in love with this book as much as I did. I love books that take a look at the entertainment industry, but they always feel a little unrealistic to me. This book, however, did not.

That’s due in large part to Magnolia and Ford, who didn’t feel special at all. They were normal teens who happened to have a talent that they could have let go, but it just so happened it was their ticket out of the unhappiness with their lives that they felt at that particular moment. I loved that neither one was overly confident; I think it makes them relatable.  They both made mistakes and they both received criticism at points throughout the novel and I loved that. Perfection is boring and I want characters that aren’t perfect.

This book also has secrets and drama, but it never felt over the top. It felt like what life would be like if one were on a reality show. I really enjoyed watching the characters work to find a good balance of personal life and show life.

The side characters were wonderful as well. I loved that everyhttps://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=2270151668341056573#editor/target=post;postID=5374703922002310372;onPublishedMenu=allposts;onClosedMenu=allposts;postNum=0;src=linkone came to life and, even as I was learning names of different characters, if I read a detail about them I’d think, “Oh yeah! I love that character!” They were just as compelling as the main characters and I really appreciated that.

This book was hard to put down! Once I started reading in the evening I couldn’t stop and while I was away from the book I kept thinking about it. This book is described as being perfect for fans of Pitch Perfect and that is totally true! If you like romances that center around music, this is the book for you!

Interested in reading the book? Check it out on: Goodreads // Amazon // Barnes & Noble // Book Depository

And, the publisher is giving one (1) copy of the book!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is open for US residents only and will be open through
April 8th. The winner will be chosen at random. Anyone under the age of
18 must have the permission of a parent/guardian before entering the
giveaway. Void where prohibited by law.

>> Follow me on: Bloglovin’ // Instagram // Twitter // Pinterest // Facebook

You Might Also Like...

No Comments

    Leave a Reply