Note – I received a copy from the publisher through TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. No affiliate links were used in this post.

About The Hunting Party

Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (February 12, 2019)

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands–the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

My Thoughts

First I want to say that I really enjoyed this book. I’m on a thriller kick and this was one that was easy to get lost in. I loved the isolated setting and the setup of a group of old friends coming together.

That being said, I felt a little disconnected from the characters and the setting. It wasn’t quite as atmospheric as it could be–although maybe I felt that way because I had just finished a thriller that was incredibly atmospheric and this one didn’t bring the setting to life quite as much as that one did.

I also felt disconnected to the characters. In some ways I think it worked for this story… the friends were disconnected from each other and we were disconnected from them. But I also really wanted to have a connection with some of them and I think some of their personal stories would have gripped me a bit more if I had one.

I really did like a few of them, though. By the end I even found myself really invested in and cheering for one I didn’t think I would care for at various points throughout the book. I didn’t predict the ending… but I honestly didn’t think too much about what the outcome would be as we went through. Foley did a great job of dropping hints throughout that by time you knew who had been killed it could have been a few different people.

I think this is coming off as a pretty lukewarm review, but overall I really enjoyed the book. If you are looking for a thriller to read, this one is definitely worth a look.

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Lucy Foley

LUCY FOLEYis a former editor at Hodder Fiction and has been both a literary agent and a bookseller. An avid painter, she now writes full time and lives in London, England.

Follow Lucy on Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Instagram

  • I’m a little late in sharing the little things from March (aka, those little—and sometimes not so little—moments that make each day special), but April has been filled with Easter prep. Now I can take a breath and blog again! First up, catching up on those little moments, including this selfie in which I look so tired (I wasn’t, I was just running late), but loved the morning light coming through the window of my NYC hotel.

What were some of your little moments from March?
  • “When was the last time you spent a quiet moment just doing nothing - just sitting and looking at the sea, or watching the wind blowing the tree limbs, or waves rippling on a pond, a flickering candle or children playing in the park?” [Ralph Marston]

I used to see my dad just sit and think, “How can he do that?” I always wanted to be doing something.

And now I try to remember—and often forget—to find pockets of time to be still.
  • I forgot it was Earth Day when @annagracegruen and I decided to visit the conservatory at the University of Minnesota today.

I love that this is a working conservatory. There are tight spaces, browning leaves, and notes to help those who work there care for everything. It’s one of the things I love about it.

What did you do on Earth Day?
  • Easter prep has kept me busy, but the to-do lists are all checked off and it’s time for a few days of rest. On the agenda: a trip to the conservatory and repotting some of my plants that need new homes. What are you up to today?
  • Here’s your reminder to take the time to look up and around each day, even in the midst of the hustle.

I was reminded of this tonight. The sky was showing off and birds chirped this evening as I left the office. I took some time to take it all in and breathe the fresh air. The first three days of this week are jam-packed for me, but it’s so refreshing to take time to just be.
  • Missing these nighttime views. 🌙 ✨ 🌃
  • I had a tight frame to get to the airport and through security yesterday. As I contemplated missing my flight I decided it would be God’s way of telling me to move to New York. Unfortunately, not only did I get through security in record time, I made it home before all the delays that might have kept me in New York for a few extra hours. 😂🤷🏻‍♀️ On the bright side: I guess I don’t have to figure out how to get Mina to New York and I got to soak up alllll the puppy cuddles last night.
  • "Everything you can imagine is real." [Pablo Picasso]

MoMA was a dream. And inspiring. Do something that inspires you this week.

Follow Me!