Book Tour // The Wild Inside by Jamey Bradbury

Note – I received a copy of this book from the publisher through TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

About The Wild Inside

Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (March 20, 2018)

The Wild Inside is an unusual love story and a creepy horror novel – think of the Brontë sisters and Stephen King.” – John Irving

A promising talent makes her electrifying debut with this unforgettable novel, set in the Alaskan wilderness, that is a fusion of psychological thriller and coming-of-age tale in the vein of Jennifer McMahon, Chris Bohjalian, and Mary Kubica.

A natural born trapper and hunter raised in the Alaskan wilderness, Tracy Petrikoff spends her days tracking animals and running with her dogs in the remote forests surrounding her family’s home. Though she feels safe in this untamed land, Tracy still follows her late mother’s rules: Never Lose Sight of the House. Never Come Home with Dirty Hands. And, above all else, Never Make a Person Bleed.

But these precautions aren’t enough to protect Tracy when a stranger attacks her in the woods and knocks her unconscious. The next day, she glimpses an eerily familiar man emerge from the tree line, gravely injured from a vicious knife wound – a wound from a hunting knife similar to the one she carries in her pocket. Was this the man who attacked her and did she almost kill him? With her memories of the events jumbled, Tracy can’t be sure.

Helping her father cope with her mother’s death and prepare for the approaching Iditarod, she doesn’t have time to think about what she may have done. Then a mysterious wanderer appears, looking for a job. Tracy senses that Jesse Goodwin is hiding something, but she can’t warn her father without explaining about the attack – or why she’s kept it to herself.

It soon becomes clear that something dangerous is going on . . . the way Jesse has wormed his way into the family . . . the threatening face of the stranger in a crowd . . . the boot-prints she finds at the forest’s edge.

Her family is in trouble. Will uncovering the truth protect them – or is the threat closer than Tracy suspects?

My Thoughts

I recently read a book that takes place in the Alaskan wilderness and when it ended I was fine saying goodbye to the characters, but I wasn’t ready to leave the setting. I picked up  my next read – The Wild Inside – and was so happy to see that it takes place in the Alaskan wilderness again. I knew that when I agreed to read the book, but had forgotten. I guess this year I just have a thing for Alaska. The Alaskan landscape compliments a thriller so well and really becomes a character in itself. There must be something about it – it became a character in the last book I read, too.

This is a book I would have LOVED to have listened to on audiobook. The author made a few stylistic choices that I struggle with while reading: she left out quotation marks for dialogue and wrote in a dialect. These were perfect choices for this novel, but I just struggle with reading books that are written this way. Listening is another thing entirely and this book would the perfect audiobook.

That being said, while I typically want to put down a book that has one or both of those things, this one grabbed me from the beginning. Bradbury has some beautiful descriptions that I really enjoyed reading – I even pulled out my phone to write them down. Just as some of her descriptions were so beautiful, some made me really uncomfortable. Overall, the writing was wonderful.

The story kept me on my toes and I definitely wanted to keep reading so that I could find out what happened.

 

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Photo by Brooke Taylor

About Jamey Bradbury

Born in Illinois, Jamey Bradbury has lived in Alaska for fifteen years, leaving only briefly to earn her MFA from the University of North Carolina, Greensboro. Winner of an Estelle Campbell Memorial Award from the National Society of Arts and Letters, she has published fiction in Black Warrior Review, Souíwester, and Zone 3, and she has written for the Anchorage Daily News, TheBillfold.com, and storySouth. Jamey lives in Anchorage, Alaska.

Find out more about Jamey at her website, and connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

7 Comments

  1. HeatherTLC

    March 30, 2018 at 8:24 pm

    I listen to a lot of audiobooks so I can see why this book would work well on audio. I think I’d really enjoy listening to it!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

    Reply
  2. Raina

    March 31, 2018 at 12:47 am

    Eeeek way too chicken to read this book!

    Reply
  3. Emily Anne

    March 31, 2018 at 7:47 am

    This book sounds really interesting!! I’ve tried audiobooks but just couldn’t get into them!

    Reply
  4. The How-to Guru

    March 31, 2018 at 8:00 am

    We are fascinated with Alaska currently so this would be great! 😉

    Reply
  5. Candy Mercado

    March 31, 2018 at 10:39 am

    This looks like a good read, but it may make me emotional. The plot summary is interesting.

    Reply
  6. Holly Lasha

    March 31, 2018 at 11:42 pm

    Looks like a great book. I’ll have to add it to my list!!

    Reply
  7. Faith

    April 2, 2018 at 6:45 pm

    Ooo I have been looking for more authors like Stephen King! I can’t wait to add this to my reading list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Instagram

  • I wasn’t particularly close to my aunts and uncles growing up. I was born when my parents were a little older and I always felt like my aunts and uncles had done the aunt and uncle thing and didn’t need more of it by the time I was born.

But my Uncle H and Aunt J were different. When my uncle was dying I was asked what some of my biggest memories were. This question came up again over the weekend. And there were so many to choose from. The biggest was, of course, sticky buns on Sunday morning. (And usually going to the store with him to get them.) There was also ✨ “driving” the tractor through the fields on the farm
✨ fishing during the summer
✨ trips to the store and getting a candy bar that I didn’t have to tell my parents about (but always did)
✨ talking about his Spanish classes
✨ “scaring the fish away” by talking, but he was fine with me talking anyway
✨ driving the boat...and starting to fill the boat with water when I went too fast, but he wasn’t upset
✨driving the golf cart around the golf course
✨ listening to his stories about his time in the army

He wasn’t a perfect man and I saw that once I was an adult. But for someone who was only close to one uncle growing up, he’s part of some of my best childhood memories. 💙
  • ”I am going to try to pay attention to the spring. I am going to look around at all the flowers, and look up at the hectic trees. I am going to close my eyes and listen.” [Anne Lamott]

The last time I was here it was cold and the ground was covered in snow. I said goodbye to my uncle. (That sentence still brings tears to my eyes.) Now it’s (slightly) warmer and the world is waking up after winter. This weekend I was thankful for 🌻 the chance to enjoy a beautiful view of Lake Michigan with my dog in my lap
🌻 a family brunch
🌻 followed by a family dinner the same day
🌻 fresh WI cheese curds
🌻 long talks with my cousin

What were you thankful for this weekend?
  • Lake Michigan was barely visible when we left this morning. It was fun to see how the view of lake changed each day—and throughout the day!—this weekend.
  • I guess I didn’t have to worry about whether or not the dogs would get along. 🤷🏻‍♀️😂
  • Hello, Lake Michigan. 👋🏼
  • When you think they finally placed an order for you...and then they make you get off the chair. 😒 Swipe to see other photos from my day: 🐾 Met my human’s aunt and I was cute.
🐾 Asked my grandhuman for tummy rubs.
🐾 Realized my tummy rubs weren’t his priority. 🙄
🐾 Met two Doodles and my human pet one of them... so if you’d like a human, I’m getting rid of mine. No time for that kind of betrayal.
  • We’re headed on an adventure! Mina’s handling the longest road trip she’s been on like a champ. While at a rest stop we met a man wearing a “Dogs are my favorite people” shirt (👏🏼👏🏼) and his German Shepherd, who fell in love with Miss Mina. Can you blame him? Who wouldn’t fall in love with her? #littleonesadventures
  • Goodnight moon. 🌙

Follow Me!